Evaluation

I think this module went well, however I think there is definitely room for improvement in regards to my final piece. I began this project as an extension of previous research into how we view photographs through memories. This research helped me to form my video presentation ‘Is the association of memories with family photographs necessary in order to appreciate them?’ I have now taken this research further with my exploration into how we experience photographs through memory. I wrote in my project proposal that we draw on our memories to view and interpret  the photographs we see. My aim with this project was to create something to illustrate this point.

I began the project by researching various adaptions of fairy tales. My original idea was to re-create scenes from fairy tales, changing them slightly to make the viewer question their prior memories of the story. After doing my preliminary photo shoot I felt a little lost for a while because I didn’t feel like I was portraying my meaning effectively.After reassessing my project aims I came up with my final concept of illustrating fairy tales with photos of objects within the tales. Joel Sternfeld’s ‘On This Site’ series was a big inspiration. The photos within this series show places in which people died, however, the photos don’t directly depict any death. Similarly, my photos depict objects from fairy tales, not the actual tales. The audience constructs the narrative of my images from their prior memories of fairytales.

I experimented with several editing techniques. I specifically enjoyed bleaching my photos, working in the style of Curtis Mann. I didn’t think this technique suited my images, however, I am going to continue using this method in the future. I wanted to create hand crafted pieces and settled on transferring my images onto wood. I’d never done this before but I found it to be quite easy and simple. I feel that these ‘wood prints’ bring the objects to life, somehow giving the images extra dimension which couldn’t be achieved by printing onto paper.

I am happy with my final images, though if I’d had more time I would’ve made a few adjustments here and there. Firstly, I would’ve liked my transfers to be mistake-free and perfect, but some ink in a couple of the images has rubbed off along with the paper. Secondly, some of the images have turned out darker than the others. For example, I think I should’ve given the image of the porridge higher contrast. Otherwise, I am pleased with my final piece, the series I’ve created achieves my aim so I am happy with it as it is.

References

Carter, A., 2006. The bloody chamber and other stories. London: Vintage.

Goldstein, D., [no date]. Dina Goldstein’s Fallen Princesses. [online]. [Accessed on 10th March 2013]. Available From: <http://www.fallenprincesses.com/fallenprincesses.html&gt;

Grimm, J., and Grimm, W., 1977. Household Tales. London: Pan Books.

Hirsch, M., 1997. Family Frames: Photography, narrative and postmemory. London: Harvard University Press.

Holland, P., and Spence, J., 1991. Family Snaps: The Meaning of Domestic Photography. London: Virago Press.

Kahneman, D., 2010. The riddle of experience vs. memory Available from:
<http://www.ted.com/talks/daniel_kahneman_the_riddle_of_experience_vs_memory.html&gt;
[Accessed 9 January 2013].

Kahneman, D., 2011. Thinking Fast and Slow. London: Allen Lane.

Kuhn, A., 1995. Family Secrets. London: Verso

Mann, C., c2013. Curtis Mann | Blog. [online]. [Accessed on 20t April 2013]. Available from: <http://curtismann.tumblr.com&gt;

Mann, C., [no date]. Curtis Mann | Artwork. [online]. [Accessed on 20t April 2013]. Available from: <http://www.curtismann.com&gt;

McLuhan, M., 1966. The effect of the printed book on language in the 16th century. In E. Carpenter, M. McLuhan, eds. 1960. Explorations in communication: An anthology. Boston: Beacon, pp.125-35.

Norfolk, S., 2011. In discussion of his exhibition: Burke + Norfolk: Photographs From The War In Afghanistan. [conversation] (Personal communication, May 9, 2011)

“Man Ray Portraits”, National Portrait Gallery. St Martin’s Place, London. [exhibition] (vistited: February 25 2013).

Ritchin, F., 1990. In Our Own Image: The Coming Revolution in Photography. New York: Aperture.

Ritchin, F., 2008. After Photography. London: W.W. Norton & Co.

Sternfeld, J., 2012. On this Site: Landscape In Memoriam. Göttingen: Steidl.

This entry was posted in Professional Photographic Practice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

