Object Backgrounds…

Before I shoot, I must think about the object backgrounds. Do I want the objects to appear in context as though in the scene of the fairy tale they appear in? Or, do I want a plain background?

To experiment, I found this image from google image search. (It’s interestingly a photo of the egg used in the 1971 film adaptation of ‘Charlie & The Chocolate Factory’ by Roald Dahl.)

Screen shot 2013-05-08 at 19.16.37

I thought the golden egg would be seen within a nest..
Screen shot 2013-05-08 at 19.18.07

I tweaked the levels, brightness/contrast and added a bit of shadow to make it look more realistic.

Screen shot 2013-05-21 at 11.12.26
golden egg bg mock up
I then used the paint effect I have tried previously.
golden egg bg mock uppaint style
I did like the look of the egg with the relevant background, however I feel that the backgrounds could give the images too much context & would easily give away which fairy tale they belong to.

For this reason I’ve decided to photograph my objects against plain backdrops.

White background:
golden egg NObg mock up

I didn’t like the harshness of the white background so I tried a mid-tone: brown paper.

Screen shot 2013-05-08 at 19.52.04 golden egg paperbg mock up golden egg paperbg mock uppainting2

I applied the paint brush affect to this, as I would still like to achieve a hand-made quality. This is how I aim to make my images look.

This entry was posted in Professional Photographic Practice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

