My Grandad’s Story

Here are three recordings of the interviews I did with some of my family members. I wanted to tell the story of my Grandad’s life & family before coming to England, but because my Grandad never spoke about it with me, I didn’t feel like I alone could tell his story. I decided to use the source of my knowledge on the topic, my family, in order to tell the story of my Grandad.

Grandma:

Dad:

Uncle:

I just so happened to be talking to my uncle Pete (my Mum’s brother) about my Grandad and he told me the above story, which I had never heard before! When I asked my Dad about it, he hadn’t heard before it either but he said it was just one of those things he never asked his Dad about.

This entry was posted in Phonar. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Grandad’s Story

  1. Oli Sharpe says:

    love the subtle changes i story with each persons account, the pictures are lovely, glad you kept the frames. everyone can relate to these kind of pictures but not always know the stories behind them, I love listening to my grandad talk about old photo’s, this was a touching story.

  2. Well done Helen, i like how each story is sectioned off, as told by some another member of the family. Thats a good idea. It’s quite a powerful story and i think there is some really good issues in there which would be nice to investigate more

  3. really interesting story Helen, it’s a shame you never managed to find much in the Polish records but the stories you do have a really interesting to listen to.

  4. kye Tidman says:

    A really interesting story, perhaps put the images together as i video. Explosion at the end, did not expect that twist. adding the different perspective’s gave the story more gravity.

  5. jenniferhearn says:

    I really liked the different versions of stories and how each one was a little bit different, because that’s how they remembered the memory. It was nice to see his life story coming together by different stories from different people. I wonder what it would be like if you carried on asking various family members especially those in Poland their memories and build the story even more. Well Done Helen, a great and interesting story!

  6. alexicirelli says:

    i thought this was really touching and lovelly. really interesting to hear their stories and sad that you dont really know your family in poland.

Leave a Reply

