Transformative Storytelling…

Phonar Task: Transformative Storytelling.

Using only found images (ie images from family albums and local library archives, not published in magazines) research and construct a photo-artefact that weaves a narrative linking the people depicted within your the images (the archive population).

Development : Build and include a soundscape relevant to your story. Include personal stories from the subjects depicted.

I feel as though i’m completely lost with this weeks task. I have no idea what to create, yet I have so many ideas. Im interested in self-representation on the internet (which images do we choose to represent ourselves with?). I thought about cataloging several peoples profile pictures from social networking sites such as Facebook in order to see the similarities between them. If I were to do this, i would’ve had to gain permission for the use of peoples images, and also, I would not know which narrative to associate with them.

I also thought about creating a video for a pre-recorded ‘story’, such as a celebrity interview or famous speech. This instantly reminded me of a video I saw on Youtube a few years ago. The video is an animated illustration of 14 year old Jerry Levitan interviewing John Lennon.

The Video description reads:

In 1969, a 14-year-old Beatle fanatic named Jerry Levitan snuck into John Lennon’s hotel room in Toronto and convinced him to do an interview. 38 years later, Levitan, director Josh Raskin and illustrators James Braithwaite and Alex Kurina have collaborated to create an animated short film using the original interview recording as the soundtrack. A spellbinding vessel for Lennon’s boundless wit and timeless message, I Met the Walrus was nominated for the 2008 Academy Award for Animated Short and won the 2009 Emmy for ‘New Approaches’ (making it the first film to win an Emmy on behalf of the internet).

This video is a great example of a visual interpretation of audio. Watch it below…

I also came across another video (below) when searching for speeches to use.  This video is an excellent demonstration of how images can add more power to a narrative.

Both of these videos lead me onto themes of war. Which in turn lead me back to the story of how my Granddad came to live in England. (This was my story for last weeks Phonar task, I’m going to post it online soon!) To simplify: My Granddad was born and raised in Poland and was captured by the Germans and taken to Germany at the start of the second World War. He was later liberated by the American Army and after the war was over, he was offered a chance to move to any commonwealth country. He chose Britain.

This is the narrative I have chosen to present for this weeks task. I have decided to position photos of my Granddad alongside maps/images from Google Earth in order to demonstrate his changing identity and journey.

This first image shows the church within my Granddad’s village Skrzydlna set along side the earliest photo of my Granddad in our possession.

The second image shows the shortest distance between my Granddads village in Poland and the German boarder. We do not know where my Granddad was based while in Germany.

The third image shows an image of my Granddad & Grandma’s first house in Nuneaton, England. I have positioned it next to their  wedding photo.

These images are a good starting point, however, I can go so much further with this task. Obviously, I could expand the series by making more images to portray my Granddad’s life in England. As I said before, I am a bit stuck on the second part of the task, which is to develop a soundscape (to accompany the images chosen). Maybe I could simply incorporate the story of how he came to live in England.

This entry was posted in Phonar. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

